orchid beautiful-ness

August 2, 2009 at 4:51 pm (Loved, random things) (, , , )

I had thought orchids where the most difficult of plants to grow, and when I won an orchid as a lucky door prize at a conference earlier in the year I was sure I would end up killing it (not that I have black thumbs or anything, just that orchids sounded too high maintanence for me).  Anyway, it go sunburnt so I moved it to a shadier spot in the patio.  I never water it (it was getting the incidently spray from the hose while I watered the plant around it, then when the rains started, I’ve just left it to nature). About a month or so ago, flower spikes started forming and low and behold over the past fortnight the flowers have slowly opened.  Aren’t they just beautiful?

orchid 1

orchid 2

orchid 3

orchid 4

Leave a Reply

